Draw The Line pledge rewards – workshops and talks

Draw The Line logo by Karrie Fransman

Here is a full list of all the artists who have offered workshops and talks as pledge rewards for the Draw The Line crowdfunder.

To make your pledge, go to the funding page on the Unbound website and choose ‘artist workshop’ or ‘artist talk’.

You’ll be contacted when the fundraising is complete, at which point we’ll nail down the details of which artist you’d like, and all the other practical details. As with all pledges on Draw The Line, the profits will go to Help Refugees, but in these cases the pledge also includes a small fee for the artist.

Artist Workshops

A hands-on session where a practicing comic artist will teach you and a group of friends the skills you need to create comics or artwork in their style. Each artist will bring something distinct! Note the regions each artist will cover in the table below.

This option is ideal for: schools, colleges, art clubs, hen or stag parties, social clubs, or just you and a bunch of friends.

£350 – includes 5 copies of the book

Artist Artist’s website Region covered Workshop description
Rachael Ball http://rachaelball.tumblr.com/ London and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Victor Szepessy http://www.victor-szepessy.co.uk/ London and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Jo Harrison http://jo-harrison.co.uk/ Within 20 miles of Jo’s West Sussex location, and London To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Al Davison https://www.instagram.com/astralgypsy/ Coventry and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Emily Haworth-Booth http://emilyhaworthbooth.com/ London-based or further afield if accessible by train A fun, inclusive workshop in which participants make their own graphic short story from scratch, including storyboarding, pencilling and inking, relating to the Draw the Line theme of taking action and making a difference. Open to all levels including beginners, non-artists and experienced makers.
Woodrow Phoenix https://twitter.com/mrphoenix London and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Sally Kindberg http://www.sallykindberg.co.uk/ London and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
David Blumenstein http://www.nakedfella.com/ Melbourne Australia To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Zara Slattery https://zaraslattery.com/ Brighton and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Josie Pearse http://pearseandblack.com/ London and surrounds Get advice on book proposals and/or help with writing
Penny Sharp http://www.pennysharp.co.uk/ Glasgow and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Michi Mathias https://www.michimathias.com/ Lewes and surrounds How to make your favourite recipe into cards or framed artwork for your kitchen wall.
Rachael House http://www.rachaelhouse.com/ London and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Simon Russell http://www.boinggraphics.co.uk/ Brighton and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Jenny Drew https://jennydrewsomething.wordpress.com/ Somerset and surrounds Using comics to communicate with seldom heard young people or groups; OR character design sessions for children and teenagers
Rosa Devine http://rosadevine.com/ Dublin and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Richy K. Chandler http://tempolush.com/ London and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Karen Rubins http://karenrubins.com/ London and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Ally Shwed http://allyshwed.com/ New Jersey USA To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Una https://unacomics.com/ Yorkshire Drawing/life writing workshop

Pledge here

Talks

This is your chance to hear directly from some of the comic artform’s most eloquent and enlightening practitioners. In this option, the artist will give an entertaining talk, illustrated with slides or physical artwork, and drawing on their experience as a comic art practitioner. Learn straight from the horse’s mouth!

On average you should expect between an hour and ninety minutes, including time for a Q&A session.

£250 – includes one copy of the book

Artist Artist’s website Region covered Talk description
Al Davison https://www.instagram.com/astralgypsy/ Coventry and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Myfanwy Tristram https://myfanwytristram.com/ Within 2 hours’ train travel from Brighton How to organise a large multi-artist project like Draw The Line
Woodrow Phoenix https://twitter.com/mrphoenix London and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Michi Mathias https://www.michimathias.com/ Lewes and surrounds Making historical non-fiction into a graphic novel
Apila Pepita http://apilapepita.com/ Helsinki and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Simon Russell http://www.boinggraphics.co.uk/ Brighton and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Rosa Devine http://rosadevine.com/ Dublin and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Richy K. Chandler http://tempolush.com/ London and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Karen Rubins http://karenrubins.com/ London and surrounds To be discussed between the pledger and the artist
Ally Shwed http://allyshwed.com/ New Jersey USA To be discussed between the pledger and the artist

Pledge here

Would you rather pledge for original artwork?

See all the exciting options here.